At certain times, a model or unit might be called upon to take a Leadership test. This represents them drawing upon their courage to face disheartening circumstances, or to perform certain manoeuvres.
To take a Leadership, roll 2D6. If the result is equal to or less than the model's Leadership value, then the test has been passed. If the result is greater than the model's Leadership value, a suitably dire consequence will occur, as detailed in the rule that called for the test. This will normally involve the unit turning tail and fleeing from the enemy.
If a unit includes models with different Leadership values, always use the one with the highest Leadership – warriors naturally look to the most steadfast of their number for guidance. Note that a unit that has a LD of '0' or '–' automatically fail Leadership tests.
When taking a Leadership test, sometimes you have to take it on a unit’s unmodified Leadership. A unit’s unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership characteristic in the unit. That means the Leadership from any characters in the unit itself (but not from outside the unit) with a higher Leadership can be used unless specifically stated otherwise.